Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ Categories

Please contact us if you have any queries which are not covered below.

General questions about our service

Which carriers do you track?

We currently track the following carriers, mainly in the UK and Ireland:

An Post • ArrowXL • Canada Post • CitySprint Retail • Collect+ • DHL • DPD • DX • Fedex • Fedex (UK) • GLS • Hermes (UK) • iParcel • Nightline • Parcelforce • TNT • TNT (UK) • UK Mail • UPS • USPS • Yodel

ParcelSpace allows FREE tracking. Do I have to pay anything?

ParcelSpace is FREE for email alerts for ten parcels in a rolling 30-day period (i.e. alerts for up to 121 parcels a year), and you don't need to give us any payment details.

We do not charge for tracking information and we are not funded by advertising.

If you want to use texts (which we pay for), we charge 6.5p each (7.8p including UK VAT). We currently charge 3p for additional parcels over ten which we successfully track in a 30-day period. We will be bringing in some cheaper plans and bundles for higher volumes soon.

What delivery statuses do you show?

We group delivery statuses into six simple categories:

Recorded - the delivery has been arranged with the carrier
Collected - the parcel has been picked up by the carrier
In transit - the parcel is on its way, and could be anywhere between the Collected and Out for delivery stages. Generally there are more in transit stages than any other.
Out for delivery - a delivery attempt is due today (this may also include some notifications on the night before).
Delivered
Exception - something has gone wrong with the delivery, and your parcel has not been satisfactorily delivered yet. Exception messages may help you make other arrangements.

What is a “participating retailer”?

A participating retailer is one which is working with ParcelSpace to automatically enter your deliveries into ParcelSpace. They may send you some tracking alerts through ParcelSpace. They may also be set up to receive direct eNote messages from you if you need to contact them.

Setting up your account

How do I enter my mobile number?

At the moment, you can only enter you mobile number online. Go to the Info tab on your account page, and click the edit button against your phone number. Enter your mobile number and request a verification code by SMS. Enter the verification code to verify your number.

How do I set up my alert preferences?

Your Message preferences are your default settings for all the new parcels you enter into ParcelSpace.

Online, go to your Account page; in the apps go to the More page. Then choose Message preferences. From there, tick the tracking statuses you want to receive alert messages for. You can adjust your alerts for a particular delivery without changing your Message preferences.

How can I set up text alerts?

You can only set these up online. First you need to enter and verify your mobile number. You need to deposit some credit using the top up button on your account page (minimum amount £5 plus VAT). Then you need to set your Message preferences or adjust your alerts for a particular delivery to include text alerts.

How do I set up addresses?

Online, go to the Addresses tab on your Account page, and choose Add address. In the apps, go to the Addresses tab on the More page and touch the plus sign.

What is a confirmed address?

A confirmed address is one which we have been able to verify as registered with a credit card which you have used to deposit some credit. You can only see that an address has been confirmed online. Otherwise an address is marked as Unconfirmed.

Using ParcelSpace

How do I change alerts for a particular delivery?

On the website, go to your My Parcels page and click one of two links on the parcel line: under Delivery, the parcel name or tracking number, or the edit button under Delivery alerts. On the Delivery alerts tab, you can tick or untick any one of the alert settings.

In the apps, touch a parcel line on the Parcels screen, to go to the parcel detail screen. Then touch the Alerts line to take you to the parcel's alert settings where you can change the settings.

These changes do not affect your default alert settings, which we also refer to as your Message preferences or Alert preferences.

How can I see if a retailer is a participating retailer?

When you allocate a retailer to a delivery (from the parcel detail page, after you have clicked or touched the parcel line), you will see a * in front of participating retailers. All other retailers are for memo purposes only, to help you see which retailer your parcel is coming from.

What is an eNote message?

An eNote is a direct message you can send a participating retailer which has agreed to receive them. It allows you to contact the retailer directly about a particular delivery, and to resolve issues and queries with them conveniently and privately. The eNote option will only appear with the parcel details for a delivery, online or in the apps, if the retailer in question has agreed to receive eNotes.

How can I allocate a delivery to a retailer?

On the website, go to your My Parcels page and click one of two links on the parcel line: under Delivery, the parcel name or tracking number, or the edit button under Delivery alerts. Then click the edit button.

In the apps, touch a parcel line on the Parcels screen, to go to the parcel detail screen. Then touch either the Order number or the Retailer lines.

From the Add retailer screen, you must enter the order number and either choose a retailer from the list or add a new retailer.

Usually if the retailer is participating with ParcelSpace, the retailer and order number will already have been entered for you, and you can't alter them. For other retailers, the information is memo only and for your convenience.

How do I share tracking for a delivery?

On the website, go to your My Parcels page and click one of two links on the parcel line: under Delivery, the parcel name or tracking number, or the edit button under Delivery alerts. In the apps, touch a parcel line on the Parcels screen, to go to the parcel detail screen.

Then choose Share tracking, and enter the name and email address of the person you want to share the parcel with, and optionally add a message. If they are already a ParcelSpace user, they just need to click the link to start tracking the parcel. If they sign up using the link, we will automatically enter the delivery for them to track.

What does it mean to hide a delivery?

There are times when you might want to remove an old delivery from your My Parcels or Parcels list. On the website, you can click the button under the heading Hide. In the apps, you can slide or hold down a parcel in your list to do the same. This moves your parcel to history, and ends tracking. You can see parcels you have hidden by going to your My Parcels page on the website.